At today’s NJPW: Wrestling Hinokuni show at the Grand Messe Kumamoto, Los Ingobernables de Japon leader Tetsuya Naito defeated Minoru Suzuki in order to win the IWGP Intercontinental Championship for the second time in his career.

Tetsuya Naito’s first reign as IWGP Intercontinental Champion came way back in 2016 when ‘The Ungovernable’ defeated former ROH World Champion Michael Elgin in order to become the 15th IWGP IC Champion in NJPW history.

During his first reign as IWGP IC Champion, Naito successfully defended the belt against Hiroshi Tanahashi at Wrestle Kingdom 11. However, after successfully retaining the strap against Michael Elgin and Juice Robinson, Naito eventually lost the IC Title to ‘The Ace’ at Dominion 6.11.

Earlier today in Kumamoto, Japan, LIJ leader Tetsuya Naito won back the IWGP Intercontinental Championship from Suzuki Gun frontrunner Minoru Suzuki, who previously won the championship belt at NJPW: New Beginning in Sapporo earlier in the year.

Naito and Suzuki wrestled each other to a solid back-and-forth match, with some amazing storytelling to the contest and apparently, in the closing stages of the match, Naito also seemingly broke Minoru Suzuki’s nose before defeating him via the Destino in order to regain the Intercontinental Title.

However, despite the huge win, Naito eventually went on to let the title belt slide off his shoulders and left it lying in the ring because apparently the IWGP Intercontinental Championship still has zero value and means absolutely nothing to ‘The Ungovernable’.

Shortly afterwards, in the post-match backstage conference, Naito stated that he’s still not sure how he feels about winning the IC Title and claimed that he definitely doesn’t need the belt.

“I don’t know how I feel about this (pointing at the title). I still don’t need it. Nothing has changed. I’ll have to think about it more, but maybe tomorrow I’ll know better.”– Naito stated.

Full Results:

Ren Narita & Yuji Nagata over Shota Umino & Tomoyuki Oka by submission with Nagata Lock II from Nagata on Umino.

David Finlay, Jushin Liger, Ryusuke Taguchi, & Tiger Mask IV over Chaos (“Switchblade” Jay White, Rocky Romero, SHO, & YOH) by pinfall with the Stunner from Finlay on Romero.

Chaos (Tomohiro Ishii & Toru Yano) over Toa Henare & Togi Makabe by pinfall with the vertical drop brainbuster from Ishii on Henare.

Suzuki-gun (Taichi, TAKA Michinoku, Takashi Iizuka, & Zack Sabre, Jr.) over Bullet Club (Chase Owens & Yujiro Takahashi) & Golden Lovers (Kenny Omega & Kota Ibushi) by submission with a grounded octopus hold from Sabre on Owens.

We get a hype video for Bone Soldier’s return, which I know surely you’ve all been waiting for.

Hiroshi Tanahashi, Juice Robinson, KUSHIDA, & Michael Elgin over Chaos (Hirooki Goto, Kazuchika Okada, Will Ospreay, & YOSHI-HASHI) by pinfall with High Fly Flow from Tanahashi on YOSHI-HASHI.

Post-match, Okada goes to leave but instead turns around and charges back down to beat Tanahashi down! They have a big ol’ brawl before stalemating after failed Tombstone piledriver attempts from both men.

BUSHI over El Desperado by disqualification when Yoshinobu Kanemaru runs in and puts boots to him to keep him from hitting MX.

After the match, Takahashi and Kanemaru get right into it and we’re off!

Hiromu Takahashi over Yoshinobu Kanemaru by pinfall with Time Bomb.

Los Ingobernables de Japon (EVIL & SANADA) (c) over Killer Elite Squad (Davey Boy Smith, Jr. & Lance Archer) by pinfall with EVIL from EVIL on Smith to retain the IWGP Tag Team Championship.

Tetsuya Naito over Minoru Suzuki (c) by pinfall with Destino to win the IWGP Intercontinental Championship.