Pat Smith (born September 21, 1970) is a former collegiate wrestler at Oklahoma State University and a former assistant coach at OSU. During his collegiate wrestling career, he became the first four-time NCAA wrestlingchampion in the sport’s history, a feat only equalled four other times by Cael Sanderson, Kyle Dake and Logan Stieber in Division I and Marcus LeVesseur in Division III. Smith resigned as Oklahoma State’s assistant coach on May 1, 2006. His brother, Olympic champion John Smith, is the current head coach at OSU.


Since 2008, Pat Smith has been running and coaching the Arkansas Wrestling Academy and the youth club the Mighty Bluebirds in Little Rock, Arkansas. At the Arkansas Wrestling Academy, Smith teaches and coaches folkstyle technique 3 seasons of the year, and freestyle in the summer, as he is the head coach of the Arkansas Junior/Cadet National Team as well. Since living in Little Rock, Pat has already produced multiple state champions, national finalists, and All-Americans in the sport. Smith has past AWA wrestlers at such schools as Ouachita Baptist University, Central Baptist College, Army at Westpoint, and King’s College.

Smith was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in June 2006.